Blogtember: Memory Lane

“Nothing stands out so conspicuously, or remains so firmly fixed in the memory, as something which you have blundered.”

 ― Marcus Tullius Cicero

From the first time I read, Out of the Silent Planet, by C.S. Lewis, I began to see memory in a whole new way.  How precious our memories are to our life and to our future.  Our memories are like our own, sometimes secretly kept, history.  In, Out of the Silent Planet, C.S. Lewis expounds, through the use of foreign creatures, the idea that a moment in your life is not fully lived unless it is relived through remembrance

I find this to be incredibly true.  One of the reasons that journaling is so important to me.  I keep a blog, an electronic journal, a hand written journal, and a running journal in my mind.  When I use all these tools to collaborate, I find myself reliving my life.  Learning from a past me, so that the future me can enjoy life a little bit more.  So that a future me can love a little bit more. Reliving the past can help us avoid the same mistakes.  It allows us to take hope from past experiences, and the knowledge that God was present in the midst of every joy, every heartache, every word.

Today’s blogtember challenge was to write about a memory that I want to relive.  But as ambiguous as this may sound, it just brought me to a place where I just couldn’t get past the thought of memory.  What memories are, and what they should be to us now, and in the future. They are our link to our past.  The silent films that roll in our minds day in and day out.  Silently beckoning us to learn from what we have already lived.  I talked about passing on our life lessons to others in my September 12th blog.    And this led me down a rabbit trail.

This trail led me to this question:

What if by choosing to not relive memories, especially the bad ones, we are missing out on our greatest lessons, and our greatest contributions to this life and others? 

The truth is that humans don’t have enough time to make all the mistakes in the world.  So what a gift if someone else walks through something before us and chooses to turn and offer that advice back to the ones behind them.  But I believe that the only way to truly learn from our past is to relive our memories.  To enter the darkest rooms of our weary souls, turn on a light, and begin sorting.  Blowing off dusty memories, and trading them in for something far more valuable than the pain they have always brought.  Breathing new life, and purpose into that which has left us wounded.  Bringing to light answers we have always searched for, mainly:

Why did such and such happen? What was the point?

When we can turn and look those memories in the eyes, choose to be open minded to learning, and are willing to process the pain, we often learn more about who we are at the core of our beings.  And when we know ourselves. We can know God and others more fully.  We all want to be known.  But first we must know ourselves.  And when we embrace that challenge there is no telling the impact we can have.

So I encourage you to face that room.  You know which one.  And begin watching those silent films that will bring you into the light, and birth new hope in your soul.

May Truth Change us.

WV

Feedback welcome.

