Blogtember: Take the Risk

 

Take the Risk
Take the Risk

Today’s challenge was to review a book, a product, or a place.  I immediately thought of two things.  One the book that I am currently reading, and a new app that I have recently fallen in love with.

First the app.  I apologize in advance if you have already discovered Pixler Express.  I however, have just recently entered the smart phone era.  Like a week ago, recent.  Since then I have been thoroughly enjoying this photo editing app, and sharing my new discovery and it’s beautiful addition to the things in my life.  It’s like adding layers of awesomeness to things that you already think are amazing. So I hope you all will enjoy this app as much as I have!

Secondly, is the book I am currently reading. TAKE THE RISK by Dr. Ben Carson.  Dr. Carson is the head of the pediatric neurosurgery at Johns Hopkins.  I had never, much to my chagrin, ever even heard of this amazing man before I picked up his book.  But the Lord has been speaking to me A LOT recently about taking risks.  So, when I saw this book sitting among a stack at my friend’s house I knew I needed to read it.

I am so glad that I picked up that book. Within the first chapter I knew it had plenty of truth to speak to me.  Truth about what we are afraid of and what our society has done to help us learn all kinds of fears.  And the truth is that all fears, except for the fear of falling and the fear of loud noises, are learned.  So with all the information from the media and the way that technology almost allows us to live everyone else’s disasters, and the warning labels, that make you think, “Seriously? Someone actually needs to be told that this cape will not allow you to fly?” It’s no wonder that we live our lives afraid to take risk.  I know for me that this book is helping me to step off the sidelines and back into the game of life.  Realizing the life giving truth that, “By insulating ourselves from the unknown–the risks of life–we miss the great adventure of living our lives to their full potential.”

I don’t know about you, but I know that Jesus came to give me life to the fullest.  I am also learning that most of the time I am rejecting that offer because of the risks involved.  Dr. Carson’s words are helping me to realize that there is a method to decision making.  A method that enables me to reasonably and methodically test and see what the best choice would be in a given situation.  Whether the risk involves finances, future, relationships, or career.  This book gives an outline for using all that wisdom that God has given us in His Word.  Putting it to good use, and helping us to live life to it’s fullest.

So I hope that even if you don’t choose to read this book, although I really hope that you will, that you will at least take this away.  “No risk, pay the cost.  Know risk, reap the reward.”  We were meant for so much more than we allow ourselves to imagine.  So I will also give you a huge piece of wisdom that this book contains, and let you take the risk from there…

What is the best thing that can happen if I do this?

-What is the worst thing that can happen if I do this?

-What is the best thing that can happen if I don’t do this?

-What is the worst thing that can happen if I don’t do this?

May we take risks,

WV

Feedback welcome.