5 Reasons Why Valentine’s Day Should Not be a Holiday

Someecard1

I was telling my honey the other day, (ie: weeks ago) that I hated Valentine’s Day.  He sort of sounded incredulous, when he asked, “Really?”  On past Valentine’s Days I had to assure people that I was not ridiculing this “Day of Love,” from a single person’s bitter heart.  This year, I  have a chance to assure people that my disliking of this “Day of Love” is not due singleness.   It is truly just a dislike for a “holiday,” that I believe,  never should have taken up calendar space in the first place.

Not wanting to post something that would end with foot in mouth syndrome, I researched the roots of this flowery, pink and red holiday.  I discovered something rather hopeful.  But before I relay what I discovered, I want to reference a conversation I recently had with my sister.   I was once again divulging my distain for this holiday, “If people want to celebrate a holiday of love, they should look to Christmas or Easter.  Those, more than a day of hearts and chocolates, express the true nature of love.  The death and birth of Christ.”

And to my surprise, true love, is why Valentine’s Day was started centuries ago.  To honor and commemorate the lives of martyrs who had died because of their loving and giving natures.  One such martyr was St. Valentine (well actually in the end there were dozens of these “St. Valentines.”)  One in particular, was killed for overseeing the marriage of soldiers who were forbidden to marry.   He also ministered to persecuted Christians during the Roman empire.  The list went on and on of Saints, many named Valentine, who were commemorated on this day.

It was not until Chaucer, in the 14th century, that Valentine’s Day was associated with romantic love.  And who can blame a writer and poet, for promoting romance?  I mean he did live in one of the most “romantic” eras in history.  But as we have lost our sense of romance in this century, this “holiday” has become something otherly.   Valentine’s has become an excuse ridden “holiday”, for companies to turn a profit.  A day to exploit human emotions and their pocket books.   It is time to call Valentine’s Day what it really is: “National Day of Creating Feelings of Guilt or Unloveableness:  Just so We Can Make Money.”  Because if we are honest, we know this day is not really about celebrating true and lasting love.  Valentine’s is about promoting the love of money.

hug

So in light of my opinion (yes I know this is all opinion), I have created/compiled a list of why Valentine’s Day should no longer be a “holiday.”

Reason #5.   It’s hard enough being single, without a holiday that  promotes feelings of aloneness.  If Valentine’s was truly a day of “love,” it would promote more than just “romantic” love. Shallow romantic love at that.

Reason #4.  Men should not need to be reminded, from the Day after New Years, that there is a day approaching in which they should remember to tell their “significant others” that they love them.  (Love is all year round)

Reason #3.  Valentine’s Day undermines true love, by giving the impression that giving gifts, buying flowers, or writing sappy words represents true and lasting love.  The kind of love that lasts 50+ years.

Reason #2.  Because when someone has 2 months of reminders that their expression of love is “mandatory” and they still forget dot, dot, dot…

AND the number one reason Valentine’s Day should be either A.) Redefined, or B) stricken from the calendar…

Reason #1.  Because true love, between two people, should be celebrated in their own, unique love languages, every day of the year. Not only when society dictates that they should tell someone that they love them.  (Gentleman once a year expression is NOT acceptable.  And ladies, you should never settle for someone who can only express themselves one time a year… and…vice versa.)

If you have more reasons, I would love to hear them!  But regardless of my feelings about this day, I do believe that expressions of love are important. VERY important.  So remember today, and tomorrow, and each day after, to tell the ones you love how much they mean to you.  And buy them something tomorrow.  It’ll be 50-75% off.  😉

XOXO,

BH&T

Feedback welcome.

